Travel Blog – Cross Country Roadtrip from AZ to OH

Hi lovelies!

I’m back today with another travel blog! A few posts back I wrote a travel blog detailing my cross country road trip from my hometown in Columbus, OH to Phoenix, AZ. In that trip I was riding out west with my fiancé so we could drop him off at his military training. This time it was time to pick him up! I flew out to Phoenix to meet him and we did another cross country road trip back, but this time we stopped in a whole new set of cities (and I wore a whole new set of outfits of course). 😊 It was such a fun trip and one that I will always remember.

Phoenix, AZ

We started this trip where the last trip ended – Phoenix, AZ! This was the only repeat city we visited from our last trip. It was SO nice leaving a 20 degree Ohio and stepping off the plane into a 70 degree Arizona. Kyle and I were so excited to be together again and we really wanted to enjoy the city while still keeping it lowkey and making sure we were spending plenty of quality time together. The first night we spent walking around downtown and of course visiting a yummy restaurant. The restaurant we visited was called Majerle’s Sports Grill and it was delicious! Coincidentally, our waitress was from Ohio. After dinner we walked around downtown some more and snapped a few pictures at some cute photo opps around the city. The next morning we took a walk to the downtown Dunkin’ Donuts and then visited the Arizona State Capitol (Kyle and I love visiting State Capitol buildings whenever we can). It was a great start to our trip!

Outfit Details:

On the first night I wanted to keep it casual and comfortable since I knew we were keeping it lowkey and I also knew we would be doing a lot of walking downtown. I wore a lightweight black sweater from Rosie Daze Boutique and a pair of my favorite distressed girlfriend fit jeans from Dottie Couture Boutique. My sneakers are SUPER comfortable while still being on trend. The sneakers are also from Rosie Daze Boutique. My second outfit is a little bit more dressy because I knew we would be doing a little more that day but I also wanted to maximize comfortability again. I wore a lightweight teal sweater tunic with some black leggings. I paired it with knee high boots to really dress the look up. The leggings and tunic are from Hazel & Olive Boutique and the boots are from Dottie Couture Boutique. Additionally, I threw in some cute accessories to help elevate the outfit and really tie it together. My leopard headband is from Target and my earrings are from GR Clay Co.

El Paso, TX

The next city we visited was El Paso, TX! This was Kyle and I’s first time in El Paso and it did not disappoint. We arrived kind of late so we decided to keep our first night simple and just get dinner. I did some research on some fun restaurants to visit in El Paso and I came across this restaurant called Track One. The restaurant is literally located inside of a train car which was super cool. There was also some great photo opps around the restaurant itself so we made sure to snap some pictures while we waited for our table. The next day we decided to walk around downtown a little bit and ended up getting coffee at an adorable coffee shop called the Coffee Box. I wish we could have spent more time in this beautiful city, but it was definitely a fun little stop!

Outfit Details:

I kept my outfit casual both days since I knew we were keeping the activities simple but for dinner I did want to dress the outfit up a little bit. I wore this orange/teal flannel with the same distressed girlfriend jeans from the night before. I added cream colored booties to help dress the look up for the nights festivities. The flannel and jeans are from Dottie Couture Boutique and the booties are from Shop Unraveling Grace Boutique. The second day I wore this adorable confetti sweater from Typically Blush Boutique, some black leggings from Hazel and Olive Boutique, and my favorite black fur lined mules from Target. These are the most comfortable shoes and they are perfect for traveling because they are slip-ons that don’t restrict your feet. I have worn the heck out of these things! I accessorized the outfit with the same leopard headband from Target that I wore the previous day.

Dallas, TX

Dallas was one of the cities Kyle and I were most excited for so we decided to make this stop 2 days. Turns out Texas is about as big as the Earth itself so the trip from El Paso to Dallas was the longest of the whole entire journey. We got in pretty late at night so we decided to order from a local pizza place and watch Netflix. We ordered from ZaLat’s pizza (which was some of the best pizza I have ever had in my entire life – highly recommend)! The next day we hit the ground running with activities. We started off with brunch at a restaurant called Ellen’s downtown. Then we decided to visit the Sixth Floor Museum which details the history behind the assassination of President JFK. It was a surreal experience standing in the spot where the whole event occurred, but Kyle and I definitely learned a lot. Next, we visited Dealy Plaza downtown before heading outside of downtown to visit the beautiful Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Gardens. It was refreshing to end the evening in a serene environment full of nature. We ended up getting dinner at a downtown restaurant called Chophouse Burger where I ended up getting the best milkshake I have ever had in my entire life (I still miss it). There is so much to do in Dallas, it was impossible to pack it into two days but we definitely had a blast with the time we had.

Outfit Details:

I wanted to dress up a little more for the full day in Dallas so I wore this cold shoulder leopard sweater dress from Dottie Couture Boutique. Sweater dresses are amazing because it looks like you put effort into your outfit when really you just threw on one piece. Not to mention, they are so comfortable! I paired it with the same cream booties from Shop Unraveling Grace Boutique but when my feet got tired later in the day I decided to switch the booties out for my black fur lined mules from Target. My gold hoops are also from Target!

Little Rock, AR

One of the reasons I wanted to visit Little Rock was because of the history behind this city. This is the home of the Little Rock 9 and Kyle and I really wanted to educate ourselves on this historical event and honor the courage of these individuals. We visited the Little Rock 9 Museum and visited Central High School itself, the high school is by far one of the most beautiful schools I have ever seen architecturally and it was so surreal seeing it in person and reflecting on the events that occurred here. Next, we visited the Arkansas State Capitol and walked around the premises of this beautiful building and the different monuments and memorials surrounding it. We ended the evening with dinner at the Big Orange, a delicious restaurant with amazing burgers and floats.

Outfit Details:

I wanted to wear a cute, southern-y outfit in Arkansas so I decided to wear this camel colored dress from Typically Blush Boutique and pair it with the same knee high boots from Dottie Couture Boutique that I wore in Phoenix. I thought they paired perfect with the dress and helped elevate the look. Lastly, I accessorized with the same leopard headband from Target that I love, plus the color tones were perfect with this outfit!

Nashville, TN

Next up was a city Kyle and I have both been to before but had to visit again because it’s one of my favorite cities ever – NASHVILLE. Nashville has always felt like home to me because the people here are so nice and the vibes here are always the best. Nashville was also significantly less crowded than normal which made it even more fun for Kyle and I because it felt like we had the whole city to ourselves. The first night we got dinner at Jimmy Buffet’s Margaritaville where there was some awesome live music playing. After that we walked around downtown a little bit and did some shopping. The next day we hit up Biscuit Love for breakfast and walked around the Gulch. Then we headed outside of the city and visited Bell Meade Mansion and winery. We learned a lot about the history of the mansion and all about the horses that lived here and went on to breed some of the best race horses in the world. After this, we visited Opry Mills mall and did some more shopping before heading to dinner at a DELICIOUS pizza place called Two Boots Nashville. We had breakfast the next morning at E+Rose Wellness Cafe which was probably one of the cutest cafes I have ever been in. Leaving Nashville is always so hard (we even stayed longer than the other cities) but we will definitely be back!

Outfit Details:

I decided to rock another fun dress, this time a green/orange tie dye sweatshirt dress from Rosie Daze Boutique with the same knee high boots from Dottie Couture Boutique. Cute, casual, and fun!

Louisville, KY

The last stop on our trip was Louisville, KY! The first night we arrived it was pouring rain so we decided to keep the first night lowkey and just get dinner. My brother and sister in law recently visited Louisville and were able to give Kyle and I lots of recommendations. We had dinner at Bluegrass Brewing Co. which was a rustic bar/pub style restaurant that was delicious. We had breakfast the next morning at The Wild Egg where I had the best omelet I’ve ever had – a buffalo chicken omelet! Next we headed to the Kentucky Derby Museum and Churchill Downs where we received a private tour. I learned so much about the incredible world of horse racing and horse breeding. This was probably my favorite excursion of the whole trip!

Outfit Details:

I wore a comfortable outfit for the last day of the trip but I dressed it up with this black and white plaid shacket that is both cute and practical as the weather was getting colder and colder the closer we got to Ohio. ❄️😅 My ruffle trimmed tank top, black leggings, and my black fur lined mules are from Target.

We had an absolute blast on this trip, each city was so unique and offered something different from the last. I am so glad to have Kyle home with me now and I’m so thankful for the memories we made!

I hope you all are staying warm, lets hope for some spring weather soon! 🌸🌼🌻🌷🌹

Xoxoxo 💛

Leave a comment